A Buck Dancer’s Choice: The Download


Check out Michael Doherty’s review of the CD!

December 1, 2012 Rex Foundation Benefit Show at The Fillmore
Featuring Bob Weir, the Mickey Hart Band, & Members of ALO

Selected Compilation Available
Beginning Tuesday, April 30, 2013

For Digital Download at nugs.net and iTunes
And on disc only at nugs.net

Loved the show? Missed the show? Recapture the magic and help Rex with this commemorative compilation!

On April 30, 2013, Rex Foundation released A Buck Dancer’s ChoiceThe 19-songlive compilation, culled from a very special December 1, 2012 performance at The Fillmore in San Francisco, features choice selections from that evening’s three sets of incredible music opened by members of ALO, followed by an acoustic solo Bob Weir set, and then The Mickey Hart Band with Widespread Panic’s Dave Schools on bass. A Buck Dancer’s Choice is available now via download at nugs.net  and iTunes, and on CD only available at nugs.net.

On December 1, 2012 at The Fillmore in San Francisco, Grateful Dead members Bob Weir and Mickey Hart, as well as members of ALO performed at the Rex Foundation’s benefit concert A Buck Dancer’s Choice, held in honor of Jon McIntire, former manager of the Grateful Dead and New Riders of the Purple Sage, and longstanding member of the Rex Board of Directors. This compilation’s first 3 tracks showcase the evening’s opening set with ALO members Lebo, Steve Adams and Dave Brogan with Lesley Grant doing three original pieces, then joined by Bob Weir on tracks 4 and 5 for outstanding renditions of Me And My Uncle and an acoustic Dark Star.  Bob Weir’s solo acoustic 2nd set features songs Loose Lucy and Playin In The Band among others. The Mickey Hart Band with Mickey Hart, Dave Schools, Crystal Monee Hall, Joe Bagale, Ben Yonas, Sikiru Adepoju, Inx Herman, and Gawain Matthews topped out the evening with their third set, including such favorites as Samson and Delilah and Franklin’s Tower, and Bob Weir joined the band for China Cat Sunflower and I Know You Rider.  With this compilation of tracks from each set, the evenings unique musical experience is now available to those who could not attend the concert, while also extending the reach of the benefit so as to provide additional charitable support to the Rex Foundation.

A Buck Dancers Choice Track List (organized as arranged on the 2-CD set) is as follows: 

Disc One:  Opening Set features ALO members Lebo, Steve Adams and Dave Brogan with Lesley Grant, joined by Bob Weir for Tracks 4 and 5, followed by Set 2 of Bob Weir Solo Acoustic for Tracks 6-9, and on Tracks 10-11, the first two songs of the 3rd Set featuring the Mickey Hart Band, with Mickey Hart, Dave Schools, Crystal Monee Hall, Joe Bagale, Ben Yonas, Sikiru Adepoju, Inx Herman, and Gawain Matthews.

1. Listen To The River  6:38 (Dan Lebowitz)  2. Easy  4:37 (David Brogan)  3. Falling Dominoes  5:24 (Steve Adams, David Brogan, Zach Gill, Dan Lebowitz)  4.  Me And My Uncle  5:24 (John Phillips)  5. Dark Star 9:25 (Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Phil Lesh, Bill Kreutzmann, Ron McKernan, Mickey Hart) 6. Loose Lucy  8:25 (Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia)  7. Playin In The Band  8:20 (Robert Hunter, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart)  8. Peggy-O (Traditional, Arranged by the Grateful Dead)  9. Black Throated Wind  8:02 (Bob Weir, John Perry Barlow)  10. Samson and Delilah  7:16 (Traditional, Arranged by Bob Weir)  11. Cut The Deck  9:25 (Robert Hunter, Mickey Hart, Cliff Goldmacher, Ben Yonas)

Disc Two:  Mickey Hart Band, with Bob Weir joining in on Tracks 1 and 2.
1. China Cat Sunflower  8:03 (Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia)  2. I Know You Rider  12:21 (Traditional, Arranged by the Grateful Dead)  3. Heartbeat Of The Sun  18:21 (Mickey Hart, Ben Yonas, Crystal Monee Hall, Sikiru Adepoju, Giovanni Hidalgo, Zakir Hussain)  4. Jersey Shore  6:03 (Mickey Hart, Andre Pesis, Dave Schools, Ben Yonas)  5.Franklin’s Tower  9:10 (Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia, Bill Kreutzmann)  6. Time Never Ends 8:31 (Mickey Hart, Ben Yonas, Crystal Monee Hal, Tim Hockenberry)  7. Not Fade Away 7:53 (Charles Hardin & Norman Petty)  8. band intros 1:15  9. Brokedown Palace 7:41 (Robert Hunter, Jerry Garcia)

The compilation will be available beginning April 30, 2013 in the following formats:
· MP3, FLAC, and Apple Lossless downloads at nugs.net
· iTunes download
· CD only available at nugs.net

This benefit album is made possible thanks to the generous contributions of music, talent and resources of the participating artists, as well as the music publishers and people involved in producing the benefit concert and album as listed below.


Bill Graham Presents:  Michael Bailey, Amie Bailey, Matt Lawsky
Jerry Garcia Family, LLC
Local 16 I.A.T.S.E.
Cameron Sears
Ice Nine Publishing for use of all songs by Robert Hunter, Grateful Dead Artists and John Perry Barlow
Spirit Services Holdings, S.à.r.l. administered by Spirit Two Music, Inc. (ASCAP) for use of “Me And My Uncle
MPL Music Publishing, Inc. & Wren Music Co. for use of Not Fade Away
Belle Vie Music for use of Listen To The River
Montana de Oro Publishing for use of Easy
Montana de Oro Publishing, Ruebarb Songs, Stereo Cricket Publishing, DLA Songs, Belle Vie Music Ruebarb Songs for use of Falling Dominoes
360 Degrees Publishing (ASCAP), Atzwhatimtalkinabout Music (ASCAP), Famous in France Music (BMI) for use of Cut The Deck
360 Degrees Publishing (ASCAP), Atzwhatimtalkinabout Music (ASCAP), Crystal Monee Hall Music (ASCAP), Precious Time Publishing (ASCAP), Hidalgo Speak Music (ASCAP) for use of Heartbeat of the Sun
360 Degrees Publishing (ASCAP), Atzwhatimtalkinabout Music (ASCAP), Endless Frogs Music (ASCAP) Administered by Espy Music, OW MY EYE MUSIC (BMI) for use of Jersey Shore
360 Degrees Publishing (ASCAP), Atzwhatimtalkinabout Music (ASCAP), Crystal Monee Hall Music (ASCAP), Choozy Mutherz Music (BMI) for use of Time Never Ends


Compilation Produced by Brad Gregory Serling
Edited by Micah Gordon
Graphic Design & Art Direction: Darrin Brenner, D. Brenner Art & Design